Diet for People with Celiac Disease
Alternate Names : Celiac Sprue, Gluten-Sensitive Enteropathy, Nontropical Sprue
What food source is the nutrient found in?
Gluten is found in wheat, rye, barley, oats, corn, and rice. Gliadin, the offending substance, is not present in corn or rice but is found in the other grains. So, the diet for celiac disease is actually known as gluten-restricted and gliadin-free. People with the disease cannot eat wheat, rye, barley, and oats or any products made with these grains. They can have corn and rice, even though they contain gluten, because they don't contain gliadin. Oats have traditionally been considered off-limits to people with this condition. However, recent studies have challenged this, and experts now tell people with celiac to try oats on a case-by-case basis.
How does the nutrient affect the body?
In people with this disease, gliadin damages the tiny projections, called villi, that cover the lining of the small intestine. Villi absorb and carry fluids and nutrients. When they are damaged, the body is unable to take in the nutrients that it needs. This causes problems that include:
It also can cause vitamin and mineral deficiencies, lactose intolerance, and a foul smell to feces.